Created for a Purpose

I vividly remember listening to others plead with God, asking Him not to send them to Africa or something to that effect. I on the other hand secretly longed for such an adventure.

I was desperately afraid of leading a boring, normal, ordinary life where I would get married and raise a family in suburbia. And yet, that is exactly where He has called me; to a quaint community in sunny Southern California, to be a wife, a mom, and a friend.

It does not mean I am not being used. It does not make me any less significant. On the contrary, the gifts God has given me are specifically designed for my specific sphere of influence. Being God’s masterpiece means being awesome exactly where I am, right now, in this very moment.

And guess what, God is calling me – He’s calling you – to be awesome right where He has planted you in this exact moment!

My children call me mom. My husband calls me babe. My friends call my Lindsey. My parents call me daughter. My nieces and nephews call me auntie. I would also classify myself as a runner, a reader (avid), adventurer (dare me), schedule maker (control freak), chef (recipe reader/ food lover), and an encourager. Despite all of these titles, it is important to remember; I am not defined by these roles. I am defined by my identity in Christ.

You are a masterpiece!

Our true identity is found at the foot of the cross in the very presence of Christ.

You are God’s child (John 1:12)
You are a friend of Christ (John 15:15)
You are a member of Christ’s Body (1 Corinthians 12:27)
You were chosen before the creation of the world (Ephesians 1:4, 11)
You are given God’s glorious grace lavishly and without restriction (Ephesians 1:5,8)
You are forgiven (Ephesians 1:8; Colossians 1:14)
You are created for a purpose (Ephesians 1:9 & 3:11)
You are sealed with the promised Holy Spirit (Ephesians 1:13)
You are God’s coworker (2 Corinthians 6:1)
You are God’s workmanship (Ephesians 2:10)
You are a member of God’s household (Ephesians 2:19)
You are secure (Ephesians 2:20)
You are set free (Romans 8:2; John 8:32)
You are more than a conqueror (Romans 8:37)
You are not alone (Hebrews 13:5)
You are growing (Colossians 2:7)
You are His disciple (John 13:15)
You are chosen and dearly loved (Colossians 3:12)
You are prayed for by Jesus Christ (John 17:20-23)
You are a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17)
You are victorious (1 Corinthians 15:57
You are completed by God (Ephesians 3:19)

I treasure the sentiment of Elizabeth Elliot. “The fact that I am a woman does not make me a different kind of Christian, but the fact that I am a Christian does make me a different kind of woman.” Do I believe I am who God says I am? Do I believe God’s promises? Do I act like a woman who believes she is the daughter of a King?

It’s much easier to rely on tangible sources for my identity and reassurance. I long for a hug and a kiss from my husband, a thank you from my kiddos, and a listening ear from my friends. And, as much as I hate to admit it, their responses or lack there of, affects my mood and behavior. In those moments, I have a choice. I can let my fingers get all pruned in a sea of self-doubt, questioning my value, or I can reach for my Bible, fall on my knees and claim the truth of God’s words.

For we are God’s masterpiece; He created us anew in Christ Jesus so we can do the good things He planned for us long ago. Ephesians 2:10

You were not an after thought, you were forethought, specifically gifted and lovingly crafted, and sewn together! You are extremely valuable and extremely significant. You are irreplaceable! The woman He made and created you to be is intended to reveal Jesus. Your life, your story, your passions, and your interests were intended to change the world for the better…right where you are.   No one compares to you.

Leave a Reply

