Be Inspired

A couple of years ago my mom purchased a piece of art for Brett and I. It’s not large, it doesn’t hang on a wall, and if you were to glance in our room it would most likely go unnoticed.

Sitting just under two inches tall is an inspirational paperweight with the word “Be” followed by an ellipses.

Be…

Both “be and the elipses” are made of pewter and stand freely. The pewter piece came with a small burlap sack filled with 50 or so words; words such as thoughtful, optimistic, adventurous, sexy, and thankful to name a few. The three dots forming the ellipses have a slit in the top. The idea is that each day Brett or I choose a word from the burlap sack and place the small piece of cardstock into the slit on top of the ellipses. The piece of art then poses a challenge: Be intentional. Be creative. Be hopeful.

If on a particular day I reach into the burlap sack and extract the word thoughtful, I place the word in the small holder and then I make an extra effort to “be thoughtful.”

For example, I may pull Brett aside and compliment him for being an amazing man, husband, and father. I may also elect to do something tangible. My man loves cars and brewing, so grabbing a HotVWs magazine or a specialty craft beer while checking out at the grocery store is a small act that would bless his day tremendously.

Thoughtful deeds do not need to be large and elaborate.

As I began selecting words and putting them into practice, a thought occurred to me; the words of our “Be” art and the actions they triggered were no longer tasks on a Honey Do list as much as they were sparks of excitement. The suggestions to “be” purposeful in my actions challenged me to set aside my desires, my agenda, and myself and look for ways to demonstrate love.

Loving my man was a bi-product of my willingness to “be.”

Allow me to explain. It would be easy for me to rationalize a magazine as being a frivolous expense and a silly purchase, but an intentional effort to be thoughtful overrides my negative critique.

The “doing” has not changed so much as my attitude and perspective. I am no longer focused on the burden of accomplishing one more thing as much as I am encouraged to “be” my best self for the man I love.

I believe it’s time to scrap the Honey Do list and focus instead on a Honey Be list.

My biggest fear in making that statement is that someone, somewhere will feel burdened or guilt ridden to “Be” someone she is not. That’s not the goal.

Our journey is full of ups and downs!  In our efforts to be amazing woman, wives, and moms, we often fall short.   Some days are better than others.  Heck, some hours are better than others!  So I beg of you, please, do not feel burdened.

Ephesians 5:1 encourages us to “be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved [us.]” Our love, a wife’s love, is an extension of who we are in our core. When we spend time with Christ, and grow daily in His word we are empowered by the Holy Spirit, to love as Christ loves. Our “Be” Attitudes prompt outward expressions of a lives transformed by the amazing love of and incomparable God!

Leave a Reply

