Broken Things Beautiful

I’ve had one of those weeks where negative thoughts and emotions have clanked and clattered in my head like a sink full of dirty dishes.

Ugh.

For those who know me, this is not natural to my personality ~ at all.

There must be something bigger going on.

Some deep-rooted event that is triggering my grump.

Thankfully, I have had an amazing time journaling and praying about my funk.

And do you know what’s happened, the Lord has met me right in the midst of it!

I’ve been digging into His word and resting in His presence and I haven’t felt an ounce of  shame or discouragement, simply loving arms and rest.

Jesus knows.

I am comforted by Psalm 139:

“…You have searched me and know me…you know my thoughts from afar…before a word is on my tongue you know it completely…if I make my bed in the depths you are there…For you created my inmost being…I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made…”

He knows.

I am relieved because even though I may be feeling a certain way…

even though I may be thinking certain things…

Those thoughts and feelings are not truth.

Our sweet Lord and His words are truth.

I love that I can take a bunch of broken icky thoughts to Christ and lay them down at His feet.  He can and will transform them into a beautiful gift to be used for His glory.

Isiah 43:18-19 says: “Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you perceive it?  I will make a way in the wilderness and streams in the desert.”

My thoughts and feelings are not my reality.

What God says about me…

What God says about my circumstances…

That is truth…and God can make broken things beautiful!

Leave a Reply

